Skilled Domestic Violence Lawyer

Domestic violence or assault along with spousal abuse are serious crimes. In Michigan, they carry heavy penalties and apply only to specific relationships between the victim and the defendant. If you are charged with a domestic violence crime in Gladwin, MI you should contact an attorney immediately.

When to Call a Domestic Violence Attorney

Domestic Violence cases are different in Michigan than in some other states. Domestic violence charges are applied only to cases involving present or former spouses, people who are dating, people residing in the same household, and people who share a child with one another. Make sure to call an experienced domestic violence attorney as soon as you are charged with the crime.

Penalties for Domestic Violence in Michigan

Domestic violence is a misdemeanor in the state of Michigan. If the defendant is convicted and it is their first offense the penalty is 93 days in jail and up to a $500 fine. The second offense is 1 year in jail and up to a $1,000 fine. If the defendant is charged with domestic violence for a third time it is no longer a misdemeanor. It turns into a felony charge with 5 years of prison time and up to a $5,000 fine. There are other factors that can turn a misdemeanor charge into a felony charge such as assault with a dangerous weapon and intent to do great bodily harm among others. Domestic violence charges are very serious, and you will need a qualified attorney to guide you through the criminal process.

Gladwin, MI Domestic Violence Cases with Gentry Nalley, PLLC

If you have been charged with domestic violence in Gladwin, MI, our skilled criminal defense lawyers, Jules N. Fiani, Of Counsel, and Heather KS Nalley are here to help. They will use their over fifty years of combined professional experiences to guide you through every step of the criminal process and ensure that your rights are protected. We understand that this is a delicate situation and just because you have been charged with domestic violence, it does not mean that you are a bad person.  Call us at (517) 522-4092 or contact us on our website so we can help you through this difficult time.

Reach Out For Trusted Legal Guidance

Scroll to Top